Adventure time 

Fireworks sparkled in Mumbai’s skies, and I downed the liquid in the tiny paper cup in my hand. It was like drinking tea flavoured, lukewarm sugar solution. Nonetheless, our taste buds tingled with excitement. It was almost midnight and we were at a train station, at the beginning of a three-day vacation.

“I don’t like feeling so unsettled!” Complained A, a little nervously, as we caught up on each other’s lives, having met after two years. “It’s not even that I don’t like my work. But I feel dissatisfied.”

Spitting out the cinnamon and cardamommy dregs of the tea, I sagely told her, “You don’t have to plateau yet. Your mind is telling you that you aren’t engaged to the full potential and it’s too early to peak. There’s nothing wrong with that.”

The sudden outburst of crackers multiplying loudly in the sky interrupted our Yoda moment. The New Year had arrived!

We hugged each other excitedly.

“Newt, what does this moment imply about the coming year?”

“To adventure and taking risks, and breaking our own moulds!”

We clicked selfies against the sparkling sky, which turned out to be a bunch of photos with A’s forehead and my chin against terrible background lighting and blurry trains on tracks.

Welcome 2016!

…Right when I’d gotten friendly and comfortable with 2015. Happens every year.

Leave a Reply

